The Wife’s Promise: A totally escapist WWII historical fiction novel (The Goswell Quartet Book 1)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Mar 14, 2024 22:39:02 UTC – Details)



Alice looked at the young girl standing alone on the platform, sensing the same vulnerability she’d once felt entering the village she now called home. And, as the child gripped her hand tightly, she vowed she’d always protect her – whatever the cost…

England, 1939: When Alice marries kind-hearted vicar David on the eve of war, it means leaving her old life behind and moving into the draughty vicarage in the beautiful, remote village of Goswell, Cumbria. Though desperately homesick, Alice is determined to make a new life for herself and her husband.

But when war suddenly breaks out, Alice is devastated when David chooses to sign up to fight. Distraught, Alice can barely distract herself from her fear of what might happen to her husband. But everything changes when she is asked to take in an evacuee, a young girl called Vera, and Alice makes a promise to herself to protect this quiet, troubled child, no matter what…

Now: When Jane and her family move to the small village of Goswell where her husband grew up, she’s afraid she might have made a huge mistake. Their new home – in what had once been the vicarage – feels a million miles from their previous fast-paced life in New York City, and Jane struggles with empty days that seem lonely and purposeless.

But when Jane finds a small note, forgotten behind a shelf in the pantry, written during the Second World War by a woman named Alice, everything changes. And as Jane learns more about Alice’s life, her bravery and sacrifice, she realises that this woman’s incredible story has the power to change everything…

The story of two wives – told over 70 years apart – tell a story about courage, finding a home, and how an unexpected connection can change your life forever. Perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy, Lucinda Riley and Barbara O’Neal.

This novel can be enjoyed as a standalone.

Previously published as The Vicar’s Wife by Katharine Swartz.

Readers love The Goswell Quartet:

“WOW!!!!… clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!!… I was utterly glued to the pages… carrying my phone to read it on my Kindle every chance that I got and I had tears absolutely streaming down my face… I was completely mind blown at the end and just when I thought I had run out of tears they started pouring out again…This book will stay with me for a long time… absolutely unputdownable… I LOVED it.” Bookworm86 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Amazing!… I was reaching for the Kleenex… My emotions were running wild from the first page to the last… completely heartbreaking and captivating… This story of love, hope and second chances is one that I won’t forget… Phenomenal… I loved it.” Page Turners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Will grab your heart and simply not let go… gripping and emotional… This has zoomed right to the top of my list of favorite books!” Vegan Book Blogger ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I stopped reading all my other books just to finish this one!… Absolutely perfect. This gem gives me all the feels!!” Goodreads reviewer

“Right from the very start I was pulled in… These are characters that stayed with me… I loved this book from beginning to end.” I Wish I Lived in a Library ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BG2VBF4Y
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (17 November 2022)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1797 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 316 pages

Scroll to Top