The Watchmaker’s Daughter: An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching World War II historical novel (The Resistance Girl Book 1)

The Watchmaker’s Daughter: An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching World War II historical novel (The Resistance Girl Book 1)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Apr 05, 2024 14:38:01 UTC – Details)



Hiding the worn piece of paper among her father’s watch deliveries, her eyes fill with tears at the memory of her brave friend walking towards the Nazi soldiers, and the sharp sound of gun fire. Her friend sacrificed herself so that she could deliver this message. But if she hands it over, the love of her life will die…

1942, Geneva: As her radio crackles with heart-breaking news from occupied France, Valérie Hallez gazes towards the snow-covered Alps after a long day helping her father, a local watchmaker. With a Nazi invasion looming, she is sick with worry for the future of her country, and for Philippe, her childhood sweetheart with soft brown eyes. Valérie might not be able to join the army like him, but she is determined to play her part in the fight against evil…

In defiance of her father, Valérie helps the French Resistance by smuggling messages among her father’s watch deliveries. And when darkness falls, she risks everything to hide Jewish refugee children in his old workshop. Philippe fears for her safety, as her work for the Resistance could come with a heavy price. But nothing will stop her delivering vital information and getting terrified children to safety before they are sent back to the Nazis.

But when Valérie is entrusted with an urgent letter for the Allies, she finds herself in an impossible position. The information it contains could alter the course of the war. But if she hands over the message now, it will cost Philippe his life. With Nazi spies closing in on her, Valérie must act now… But can she really trust the man she loves, and will she find a way to save both him and her country before it’s too late?

An utterly gripping and heart-breaking novel about love and bravery in a time of terrible danger. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and We Were the Lucky Ones will be swept away.

The Watchmaker’s Daughter can be read as a standalone.

What readers are saying about The Watchmaker’s Daughter:

‘My mind is blown… I have a new favourite author… I was hooked… The laundry could wait. Take away instead of cooking was the choice of the day… I didn’t stop thinking about the story… had me devouring pages… My heart beat loudly.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Heart pounding… will have you feeling all of the emotions from happy to sad to fear, with each turn of the page.’ Spooky’s Maze of Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Unputdownable… kept me hooked…I absolutely loved this.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Wow, excitement! I could feel myself sitting bolt upright as the excitement built… Loved it, read it in two nights.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I cannot recommend this book enough… heart-breaking… dramatic… I couldn’t have enjoyed it more!’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘My heart was pounding and I’d resorted to nail-biting before chapter one was finished! The author immediately put me right in the midst of the action and I became part of the Resistance for the duration of the novel… incredible.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Completely gripping and heart-wrenching… It’s a page-turner, for sure!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Amazing… will have your emotions on a wild roller coaster!’ @busymoms-readtoo

‘Such an emotive read… truly heartbreaking and yet also inspiring.’ Goodreads reviewer

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09R4PX5DN
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (25 April 2022)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1621 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 282 pages

Scroll to Top