The Midwife of Auschwitz: Inspired by a heartbreaking true story, an emotional and gripping World War 2 historical novel (Women of War)

The Midwife of Auschwitz: Inspired by a heartbreaking true story, an emotional and gripping World War 2 historical novel (Women of War)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Mar 10, 2024 06:32:34 UTC – Details)



Auschwitz, 1943: As I held the tiny baby in my arms, my fingers traced the black tattoo etched across her little thigh. And I prayed that one day this set of numbers, identical to her mother’s, would have the power to reunite a family torn apart by war…

Inspired by an incredible true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s fight for love, life and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness.

Ana Kaminski is pushed through the iron gates of Auschwitz beside her frightened young friend Ester Pasternak. As they reach the front of the line, Ana steps forward and quietly declares herself a midwife – and Ester her assistant. Their arms are tattooed and they’re ordered to the maternity hut. Holding an innocent new-born baby, Ana knows the fate of so many are in her hands, and vows to do everything she can to save them.

When two guards in their chilling SS uniforms march in and snatch a blond-haired baby from its mother it’s almost too much for Ana to bear. Consoling the distraught woman, Ana realises amidst the terrible heartache there is a glimmer of hope. The guards are taking the healthiest babies and placing them with German families, so they will survive. And there are whispers the war is nearly over… Ana and Ester begin to secretly tattoo little ones with their mother’s numbers, praying one day they might be reunited.

Then, early one morning, Ana notices the small bump under Ester’s thin striped clothing…

An absolutely heartbreaking and page-turning WW2 novel of one woman’s bravery and determination to bring life and hope into a broken world. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network and The Nightingale will be gripped.

Why readers love The Midwife of Auschwitz:

‘Wow… literally pulled my heart out of my chest… had me feeling all of the emotions.’ Spooky’s Maze Of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Absolutely heartbreaking… sobbed my heart out near the end of the book… AMAZING!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Heartbreaking yet also heart-warming… beautifully written… my favorite reads of 2022!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Absolutely stunning… pulled me out of a reading slump and bought me to tears… heart wrenching… The tragedy mixed with a tale of friendship, survival and motherhood. The ending had me in tears at my desk at work.’Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘More than five stars… Definitely a page-turner… the best one I’ve read this year.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Captured my heart… so immersed in the story it was hard to put it down… will grip you from start to finish & I just curled up in my own little world until I finished it… touching heartbreaking read… an absorbing story you do not want to miss.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A must read, one of books of this year for sure… such a heart-breaking story… You will need plenty of tissues to get through this real life story… The emotions I went through reading this book were unbelievable… I loved it.’ Echoes in an Empty Room, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gripping… completely heartbreaking… I couldn’t put this one down, I read it in almost one sitting… Heart-wrenching… I loved it.’NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Almost impossible to put down… Truly a one of a kind novel… A haunting story, that stays with the reader, long after the last page is turned.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A must read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. I stayed up far too late reading this one.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09VF3BGWD
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (31 May 2022)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 2422 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 366 pages

Scroll to Top