The Italian Girl’s Secret: An absolutely gripping and emotional WW2 historical fiction novel


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Apr 12, 2024 06:47:56 UTC – Details)



Italy, 1943. In the hills outside Naples, the silver moon shines brightly on a whitewashed farmhouse. An urgent knock on the door breaks the silence: and in that moment, one young woman’s act of incredible bravery changes the course of the war.

For Carmela del Bosco, a farm girl in a remote Italian village, sheltering an English spy is the most dangerous thing she could do. If she’s caught by the fascists it would be the end, especially for her beloved grandmother sleeping soundly upstairs. But taking in the pleading brown eyes of the man calling himself Sebastiano slumped at her door, and his terrible injuries inflicted by the Nazi occupiers, Carmela remembers how Nonna always taught her right from wrong. Risking everything, she hides him in a ruined tower on the edge of the farm.

Each day Carmela tends his wounds, and the passion that kindles between them is a light in the darkest time. Sebastiano has information that could end the war, and needs her help to send it. But tracking down fellow members of the resistenza in the mountains meansrisking her life and bringing danger to everyone she knows.

Carmela knows she must find the courage to do what’s right for her country. But if she leaves the farm, will she ever see her beloved nonna again? And will her sacrifice tear her away from the only man she’s ever loved, forever?

An absolutely stunning and heartbreaking historical novel about the impossible choices people are forced to make in wartime. Fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See and Rhys Bowen will be captivated.

Read what everyone’s saying about The Italian Girl’s Secret:

‘What a gripping story!… immersive… amazing… I loved Carmela and Sebastian’s heart-stopping journey. It was gripping, captivating, addictive, full of intrigue, suspense, and twists… I couldn’t set it down!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Fabulous… broke my heart… so heartbreaking… incredibly touching.’ Robinlovesreading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An emotional tale of family, love, and war… Beautifully written… A page-turner from beginning to end… Took hold of my heart and left me wanting more. A must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Breathtaking… I love the story and the characters… You will laugh and cry and hold your breath reading this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Captured me entirely… stealing my breath… I enjoyed it immensely… A wonderful love story… utterly fascinated.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Exciting… a really great read… you will not be able to put down until you get to the very last page!’ Christian Novel Review

‘Amazing… Left me speechless… I found myself completely absorbed… I highly recommend this book.’ Books April Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Enthralling… very absorbing… I read late into the night because I could not put it down!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book grips from the very first moment… I was so sorry to finish it… I loved this book.’ Bookaddiction, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B099X6XY76
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (10 September 2021)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1728 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 382 pages

Scroll to Top