The Girl on the Boat: An utterly gripping and epic World War 2 novel (The Emerald Sisters Book 1)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Jan 22, 2024 02:29:25 UTC – Details)



Germany, 1939: “Quickly, take this emerald. This was my late mother’s gem, and it will keep you safe. And I promise, we will all meet again in Paris…”

When Sophie Weiss boards the SS St Louis, she has no reason to stay in Germany. The Nazis have taken everything from her, and her only hope is escape. But when she meets fellow Jewish refugees Rosa, Hannah and Rachel on board, the friendship they form gives Sophie hope that there can be happiness in her future, after all.

But their worst fears are realized when the boat is refused entry at a port they thought would be safe. Terrified of being sent back to Europe, the women cling together and desperately wait for news. At last, word reaches the ship that a friend of Sophie’s father is willing to take her in — but there is only room for her.

Quickly, Sophie unpicks the lining of her coat, revealing her late mother’s emerald hidden in the lining. She hands a piece of the precious stone to each of her friends, and the women promise to meet in Paris when this nightmare is over.

Watching the SS St Louis grow smaller on the horizon, Sophie’s heart breaks. How can she embrace her freedom when those she loves face an unknown fate? And what can she do to help them? Gripping her emerald with a fierce determination, she fixes her eyes on the boat: I will find a way to help you, no matter what…

This is the first book in the unmissable Emerald Sisters series that follows the incredible stories of four brave young women, as they each forge their futures against the backdrop of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Roberta Kagan, Kristin Harmel and Kate Quinn.

Readers are loving The Girl on the Boat:

“WOW! This book completely hooked me from the first page to the last… I literally couldn’t put it down… Amazing.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Hard to put down read!!… Amazing… I couldn’t put the book down for a minute!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Heartbreaking… Absolutely brilliant… Outstanding.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Unforgettable… will stay with you long after you’ve finished reading.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Amazing… Beautiful… I found myself not wanting the story to end… A tearjerker.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0CND22H5G
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (8 February 2024)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 3637 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 405 pages

Scroll to Top