The Girl in the Shadows: A totally unputdownable WW2 historical novel about love and impossible choices (Margarete’s Journey Book 3)

The Girl in the Shadows: A totally unputdownable WW2 historical novel about love and impossible choices (Margarete’s Journey Book 3)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Apr 07, 2024 10:50:38 UTC – Details)



1943, Germany: Two years ago, fate gave a beautiful young Jewish woman named Margarete Rosenbaum the chance to survive the Nazis, by pretending to be one of them, hiding in plain sight. Now she must make a terrifying decision…

Margarete lives as Annegret Huber would have, in a beautiful rural mansion by a forest in northern Germany. She is the heiress to the entire Huber fortune—one which she has devastatingly discovered includes a factory and Nazi prison camp. Margarete has done everything she can to help improve conditions there, and to reduce suffering for the prisoners who remind her so much of her own lost family and friends.

However, as the war rages on and the Nazi party becomes more brutal in its treatment of Jews, she realizes she must do more. She has to help the prisoners escape to real safety, because they will never be safe in Hitler’s Germany.

She’s heard of a route to freedom through Sweden. Although that means secretly reaching out to the resistance. With the risk of betrayal at every turn, her enquiries lead her to a man named Stefan, who she instantly feels a powerful connection to. But she fears he will never trust her… unless she reveals the secret that keeps her safe.

At the same time, a Nazi officer begins to show romantic interest in her, making it harder to keep her identity a secret. His loyalty to the party is beyond question, so if he finds her out, not only will her plan be at risk, but also her life and those of everyone she cares for.

But can she let that fear stop her from saving others? Because she knows she herself could so easily be one of the faces on the other side of the fence. And that, in the darkest times, sometimes the only person who can rise up is the girl in the shadows…

The powerful third novel in Marion Kummerow’s bestselling Margarete’s Journey series is an unforgettable and devastating story, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, The Lilac Girls, and All the Light We Cannot See.

Readers are loving The Girl in the Shadows:

“WOW! Marion did not disappoint me… I loved these brave characters and how far they are willing to go to save thousands of lives and end the Nazi regime… Such a heartbreaking read especially in our current political climate and the parallels are startling!… I can’t wait for the finale… I can’t handle the lip-biting suspense.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“That ending! I did not expect that to happen. Wow! It was a definite surprise and superbly played… A truly heartwrenching tale of survival against all odds.” Confessions of a Bookaholic

“The twists crept up on me and left me gasping as I frantically turned pages.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Excellent… [I] held my breath… while turning the pages of this fast-paced book… What I love about Marion’s books is that she sheds light on the turmoil some Germans went through, not just those who became unwilling Nazis but those who risked everything to help bring down Hitler.” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Exciting… A really inspirational read and highly recommend this excellent WWII novel.” Christian Novel Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I was on the edge of my seat while I devoured this book. I could feel the tension increasing as the lies Margarete has spun tighten around her… An exciting read, complete with suspense and fear and the knowledge that time is running out for her and the people she is protecting.” @booksreadbyprairiegirl

“Will have you holding your breath for Margarete as she continues her subterfuge as Annegret… this series gets better and better… Has you mesmerized from the first page to the last page… Hard to put down.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09LZX9ZJP
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (23 March 2022)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1504 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 282 pages

Scroll to Top