The Berlin Wife’s Resistance: An utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 historical novel: 3 (German Wives)


Price: ₹1,117.00
(as of Jan 16, 2024 10:24:27 UTC – Details)


The soldier looks her dead in the eye, his weapon raised. “You must leave now,” he warns. But this is her last chance to save her husband, and she won’t be silenced…

1943. Fleeing Germany had been Edith Falkenstein and her Jewish husband Julius’s last hope, selling their remaining precious possessions to make the gruelling journey. But to their horror, they are turned away at the Swiss border. Devastated, they return to the tiny Berlin apartment they share with other Jewish families, with its peeling wallpaper and bare kitchen cupboards. It is a world away from the heady glamour of their lives before.

Edith’s worst fears come true when Julius is brutally arrested and imprisoned alongside thousands of other Jewish men, destined for the camps. When she hears the news, Edith feels her heart crack wide open with unbearable grief.

But then she hears of women gathering outside the prison in their hundreds-wives and mothers from every walk of life whose relatives have also been taken. They are united by a single, desperate wish. She links arms with the woman next to her and takes up the chant.

Standing among these brave women offers Edith a flicker of hope. But can they really save their loved ones? And as Edith faces the lines of German soldiers with cold savagery in their eyes, will she pay the ultimate price for this small act of courage?

An absolutely unputdownable, heartbreaking and hopeful story of love and courage. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, My Name is Eva and The Nightingale will be swept away by this book based on incredible true events.

Readers are falling in love with the German Wives series:

“It was impossible not to get drawn into this story… So compelling, moving, despairing and heartbreaking, yet the flicker of hope never went out.” Just 4 My Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“All the feels… a gripping adventure that will keep you up late at night. I can’t wait for the next book to come out!” @diane.likes.to.read, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I opened this book and I was lost straight away, brilliant story, perfectly paced. I just love this author. 5 stars, of course.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (22 January 2024)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Paperback ‏ : ‎ 270 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1837902798
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1837902798
Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 268 g
Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.85 x 1.55 x 19.84 cm

Scroll to Top