The Artist’s Apprentice: A totally captivating novel of love and art before WW1 (Hearts of Glass)


Price: ₹1,356.00
(as of Jan 23, 2024 16:19:33 UTC – Details)


“Captivating… Had me hooked throughout. Brilliant.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

In this heart-wrenching and utterly spellbinding story of love and artistic ambition, a young woman fights to be true to herself in a world where duty, money and class jeopardise her dreams.

England, 1908: Alice Dalton never intended to rebel against her aristocratic parents. But after her father’s failed attempt to arrange a marriage for her with Edmund Cutler, son of a wealthy stockbroker, she flees the family home humiliated – and determined to make a life for herself as an independent woman, however hard that might be.

When a chance opportunity leads to her taking a position as a stained-glass artist’s apprentice, Alice is stunned when she meets the man she’ll be working for: the hateful Edmund Cutler. It seems he too has turned his back on his family and has followed his passion for art, and at terrible cost.

But as they work together, mixing paints and composing their stained-glass window commissions side by side, she finds herself softening towards him, and can’t ignore the sparks that fly between them. With family conflict brewing and war on the horizon, soon Alice finds that loving Edmund proves the hardest fight, and greatest adventure, of her life.

A gripping historical novel for fans of Fiona Valpy, Rhys Bowen and Lucinda Riley.

The Artist’s Apprentice was previously published as The Colour of Glass.

Readers are utterly captivated by The Artist’s Apprentice:

“Wow – what a book! A joy to read.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I loved it from start to finish.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Held me enthralled from the first to the last page.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Absolutely loved this.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Absorbing, fascinating and beautifully written.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Loved it! Her best yet.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Fantastic. What a great book. Incredible.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Wonderful, touching, compelling…” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I dare you not to fall in love.” JJ Marsh, Author of the Beatrice Stubbs series

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Storm Publishing Ltd (13 February 2024)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Paperback ‏ : ‎ 334 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1805084275
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1805084273
Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 298 g
Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.85 x 2.13 x 19.84 cm

Scroll to Top