Please Come Home: A totally addictive and heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel (A Cornish Wartime Story)


Price: ₹249.00
(as of Jan 25, 2024 11:37:21 UTC – Details)



Cornwall, England, 1940. Anna can barely speak as she clutches the letter tight. She wishes her beloved Jimmy was here, to hold her in his strong arms and tell her everything will be alright. But he’s not – so Anna must figure out a way to save him, and her country on her own.

Women’s Air Force recruit Anna Golding has always been alone in the world, ever since her mother died in childbirth. Until she meets Pilot Jimmy Armstrong. She could lose herself in his deep green eyes. He makes Anna feel properly alive for the first time. And even as bombs rain down and their duties pull them apart, wartime reminds them that every snatched moment is precious.

When Jimmy is called away to fight, Anna knows she must put on a brave face, and swallow her fear that he might never come home. Focusing on her own war effort in the Women’s Air Force, she soon grows close to the other women around her who love to tell stories of home. Even though Anna’s own past is too painful to share…

Then a letter arrives addressed to Anna that isn’t in Jimmy’s handwriting. It’s from an anonymous young woman claiming to be a relative – and that she knows a secret about Anna’s mother. Anxiously trying to track down the letter writer and discover the truth about the family she never knew, when Anna receives harrowing news from the Royal Air Force it stops her search in its tracks.

Will Anna lose Jimmy, and her dream of their future together, to the fighting? Or will the war somehow help her find the family, and the home she never had?

An absolutely heart-wrenching, powerful and emotional novel about the hardships of war, and the strength of love. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Shirley Dickson and Wives of War.

Read what everyone’s saying about Please Come Home:

‘Amazing yet heartbreaking… Immediately pulled me into the story. As I was flying through the pages, unable to stop reading, I wept over and over… I was heartbroken… Unputdownable… Will stay with me.’ Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I absolutely devoured this… Unputdownable… Heartbreaking and heart-warming’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Smashing read! Reels you in from the off.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Addictive and heartbreaking… So very heart-warming… Touching and deeply emotional… Must read series for any historical fiction fans.’ @shortbookthyme

‘Amazing… A beautiful love story. I couldn’t put this book down!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A page-turner… Curl up in a comfy chair… Be transported back in time.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Excellent… Emotional and poignant… so evocative. A truly fantastic read!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Captured my heart.’ Goodreads reviewer

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0CC2WLCYS
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (11 September 2023)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1674 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 373 pages

Scroll to Top