Light Rises: An utterly emotional, page-turning WW2 historical novel (The Resistance Sisters)

Light Rises: An utterly emotional, page-turning WW2 historical novel (The Resistance Sisters)


Price: ₹299.00
(as of Apr 04, 2024 08:46:22 UTC – Details)


France, 1942: With Europe struggling under German occupation, Sophie Bélanger, grieving the deaths of her brother, fiancé and friends, is no longer prepared to stand on the sidelines.

Risking everything, she becomes increasingly involved in helping to save those on the run – even though that means persuading Jewish parents to hand over their children, in the desperate hope of saving their lives. When she is forced to flee to the non-occupied zone, her medical skills take her to the French camp of Rivesaltes, where she cares for the injured and unwell – until one day her luck runs out.

Meanwhile her twin, Adèle, has shed her socialite pretensions and completed her special agent training, and is poised to begin her first mission. Ready to set France ablaze, she parachutes into occupied territory and begins work drilling maquisards in guerrilla warfare, determined to thwart the Nazis at every turn – whatever the cost – and avenge the death of her beloved brother.

Soon both sisters are fighting for their survival – unsure if they’ll live to see each other again. Will the twins’ secret be their undoing?

An epic, awe-inspiring and heartbreaking story of courage against all the odds which will have you on the edge of your seat. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and The Dressmaker’s Gift won’t be able to put this captivating book down.

Readers are totally gripped by Light Rises:

“This is the best series that I’ve read all year. I was blown away… I can’t wait to start another of her books. A Must Read!!!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Amazing. A truly inspiring story… I cried while I was reading it for all those brave people who fought to bring the war to an end.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“This was such a powerful read! I enjoyed every second of it. Wesson is an exceptional storyteller! I highly recommend this beautiful book!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“It was as riveting as the first book as these sisters fight against all odds, heartbreak and treachery.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Rachel Wesson is one of my favourite authors. I’ve read all of her books and loved them all but she really outdid herself with this series! The characters became so dear to me that my heart was in my throat more than a few times while reading! If you like historical fiction, then this is a series that you will LOVE!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Absolutely loved these stories! I have read many WW2 books and I consider these two among the very best! The characters were so real and wonderful, both books made me laugh at times and cry at what these brave souls suffered…” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“The writing again was superb, the knowledge of the period and attention to detail superb… An amazing book to read and one not to be missed.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Extremely emotional and an excellent read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“There was so much I loved about this book. The storyline. The attention to historical accuracy. The authentic details. But most of all the characters… I couldn’t put this book down.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Amazing… a brilliant, exceptional book.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A riveting tale of French resistance. A great sequel to the first book in the series… Lots of twists and turns. Heartwrenching and finally heartwarming.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Just amazing… I have read about all Ms. Wesson’s books and these two are just about the two most amazing books ever!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0C7L58XBY
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Storm Publishing (21 August 2023)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1814 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 522 pages
Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1915781973

Scroll to Top