Foxden Acres: A heart-wrenching and unforgettable World War 2 historical novel (Sisters of Wartime England Book 1)


Price: ₹399.00
(as of Jan 23, 2024 17:20:38 UTC – Details)


Gripping, epic and heartbreaking historical fiction, about one woman’s survival against all odds during the unbearable hardships of World War Two.

1939, England. Bess Dudley knows what it means to lose what you love. As daughter of a groom at historic Foxden Hall, she’s pushed herself to escape her humble background and train as a teacher, but she’s made huge sacrifices along the way. Just as Bess arrives in London to take up her first, hard-won post, the shadow of war sweeps over England. Bombs rip apart the city, and screeching air raids become a part of everyday life. London is thrown into chaos and schools close, taking Bess’s dreams with them.

Then Bess learns that James, the handsome heir to Foxden Hall – who she’s loved since childhood – is engaged to Annabel Hadley. Annabel is everything Bess is not – a wealthy aristocrat – but James never seemed to care about those things before. It breaks Bess’s heart to see him with someone else.

London is becoming more dangerous by the day and when Bess nearly dies in a terrifying air raid she knows it’s time to go home. Back at Foxden Acres, she becomes a Land Girl –– farming the estate for wartime rations. It’s back-breaking work and a far cry from the life she dreamed of – even here, the horror of war leaves no life untouched.

Then the unthinkable happens, and Bess’s resilience and hope are tested to the ultimate limit. In a world torn apart by violence, she must choose between her heart and her duty… all while keeping a dark secret of her own.

An unputdownable wartime novel about how adversity can change us in ways we never anticipate. Perfect for fans of Mandy Robotham, Glynis Peters and Rachel Wesson.

What readers are saying about Foxden Acres:

“A stunning novel… I cried. But I also felt my heart lift. This book has it all – tension, love and loss.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Completely swept me away… Superb historical detail, great characters and a cracking story. Loved it!” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I absolutely loved this book! It is so beautifully and sensitively written…The depiction of hope, love, longing and of course grief had me captivated… this is a winner!” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I laughed at times, cried a little, and would recommend this to all fans of historical drama.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A heart-warming family saga… I loved this story.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I have enjoyed every word of this book… hard to put down.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A heart-warming and, at times, gut-wrenching read… had me hooked from the word go… I laughed, and I cried!… If you’ve not read it, you must!” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BZPYZR78
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Storm Publishing (5 June 2023)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1835 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Print length ‏ : ‎ 292 pages

Scroll to Top